Bringing the Legend to Life: A Guide to Reading the Dean Koontz Frankenstein Series

Experience the timeless tale of Frankenstein like never before with the gripping Dean Koontz Frankenstein series. This retelling of Mary Shelley’s classic novel brings the legendary monster to life in a whole new way, blending suspense, horror, and thrilling action. With the help of this guide, you can follow the journey of Victor Frankenstein and his creation as they navigate the dangerous world of modern-day science and technology. From the first book to the latest, we’ll give you all the information you need to read the Dean Koontz Frankenstein series in order. So, whether you’re a fan of Koontz’s work or a newcomer to the world of Frankenstein, get ready to dive into this captivating series and discover a new twist on a timeless legend.”

Frankenstein Series In Order

Containing all of Koontz’s trademark styles is the Frankenstein series, which technically falls into the thriller category yet contains an intense mix of science fiction and horror.

1.     Prodigal Son (2005)

Dean Koontz Books: prodigal son

Right from the first book, it is apparent that the award winning author retells the classic Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein with modern sci-fi touches. In Prodigal Son, Dr. Frankenstein is alive and well in the form of Victor Helios. Being a mad scientist as he has always been, Helios wants to replace the human population with a New Race born and developed in pods. The real story begins when at least one of his engineered creatures turns out to be a serial killer.

2.     City of Night (2005)

Dean Koontz Books: city of night

The second book, City of Night, starts where Prodigal Son left off. That said, Koontz spends about a hundred pages to recap the first book in the series. More members of his New Race now terrorize the city. Detective Carson O’Connor and Officer Michael Maddison are determined to investigate and get to the bottom of the problem. They are helped by Frankenstein’s original monster, now knows as Deucalion.

3.     Dead and Alive (2009)

Dean Koontz Books: dead and alive

The New Race has infiltrated even the New Orleans government. Dead and Alive kicks off with a killing spree by the district attorney and his wife; they are naked while committing the murders. Deucalion finally discovers an entry into his creator’s laboratory, and he finds a plan for the mass production of the New Race. Several strange creatures make appearances here, including a murderous insect and a hybrid of bug and panther. Deucalion activates the self-destruct countdown to end it all. 

4.     Lost Souls (2010)

Dean Koontz Books: lost souls

The story moves from New Orleans to Montana with the fourth book, Lost Souls. The two detectives, who have now relocated to California, are under the impression that Helios is dead, but Deucalion doesn’t believe so. New characters in Montana also fall victim to Helios’ scheme. Members of the New Race are rounding up real people for a mass execution by someone called the “Builder.”

5.     The Dead Town (2011)

Dean Koontz Books: the dead town

Victor Helios has a clone named Victor Immaculate, who has created another engineered species. His ultimate goal is to get rid of all living things on the planet, including himself.
Note: the first three books form the first trilogy in the series. There was supposed to be a sixth book to complete the second trilogy, but the cover of The Dead Town mentioned that it concluded the story.

In conclusion, the Dean Koontz Frankenstein series is a must-read for fans of the classic novel and anyone who loves a good supernatural thriller. With its gripping plot, dynamic characters, and thought-provoking themes, the series takes the timeless tale of Frankenstein and breathes new life into it. By following the books in order, you’ll be able to fully immerse yourself in the world of Victor Frankenstein and his creation as they face the dangers of modern-day science and technology. Whether you’re a fan of Koontz’s work or simply looking for a thrilling new series to dive into, the Dean Koontz Frankenstein series is sure to satisfy. Have you read Dean Koontz Frankenstein series? Let us know. We’d love to hear from you.

Other things you might want to know about.

What is the first book in Dean Koontz Frankenstein series?

The first book in Dean Koontz Frankenstein series is Prodigal Son.

In what order should I read Dean Koontz Frankenstein series?

The following is the reading order for Dean Koontz Frankenstein series:

  1. Prodigal Son
  2. City Of Night
  3. Dead And Alive
  4. Lost Souls
  5. The Dead Town

Is the Frankenstein Chronicles based on Dean Koontz?

No, the Frankenstein Chronicles is not based on the work of Dean Koontz. The Frankenstein Chronicles is a British television series that was first broadcast in 2015. The series is loosely based on the classic novel “Frankenstein” by Mary Shelley, but it is not directly based on the work of Dean Koontz. Instead, the Frankenstein Chronicles takes a unique approach to the classic story, offering a fresh and modern retelling of the legendary tale. If you’re a fan of supernatural thrillers, the Frankenstein Chronicles is definitely worth checking out. However, if you’re specifically looking for Dean Koontz’s take on the story of Frankenstein, you’ll want to check out his Frankenstein book series.

Have any Dean Koontz books been made into movies?

What Dean Koontz books have been made into movies?

Several books written by Dean Koontz have been adapted into movies. Some of the most notable adaptations include:

  1. Phantoms-1998
  2. Watchers-1988
  3. Odd Thomas-2013
  4. Intensity-1997
  5. Demon Seed-1977
  6. Sole Survivor-2000
  7. Hideaway-1995
  8. Servants of Twilight-1991