Silo Book Series: The Three Novels That Inspired The TV Show

The Silo book series explores themes of isolation, secrecy, survival, and the consequences of knowledge. Together, they paint a complex picture of a post-apocalyptic society struggling to endure in a harsh and unforgiving world.

Main Trilogy

Wool (2011)

Silo Book Series

In the first book, “Wool,” readers are introduced to a dystopian future. Humanity has been forced to live in an enormous underground silo. The outside world is uninhabitable, and the residents of the silo are kept in the dark about the true nature of their existence. The story follows Juliette. She is a skilled mechanic, who becomes curious about the outside world and begins to unravel the secrets that the silo’s leaders have been hiding. As she delves deeper into the mystery, she discovers shocking truths threatening their underground society’s stability.

Shift (2012)

Silo Book Series

“Shift” is a prequel to “Wool” and reveals the events that led to the establishment of the silo society. It explores the lives of key characters, including Donald, a powerful senator, and Troy, a talented engineer. As the world outside deteriorates, these characters are drawn into a web of political intrigue and betrayal. Ultimately results in the construction of the silos and the forced relocation of survivors underground.

Dust (2013)

In the final book of the trilogy, “Dust,” the secrets of the silo society are exposed to a larger group of inhabitants. Juliette, Donald, and other key characters from the previous books must confront the truth about their world and make difficult choices to ensure the survival of humanity. The silo society faces external threats and internal conflicts as they strive to find a way to live outside of their underground refuge.

Side Stories

Wool: The Graphic Novel (2014)

This adaptation of the first book, “Wool,” reimagines the story in graphic novel form, offering a visual retelling of Juliette’s journey as she uncovers the mysteries of the silo.

Sand (2014):

“Sand” is not part of the core Silo series but is set in a different dystopian world. It follows the story of a young man named Palmer. He seeks out a dangerous existence in a vast desert of shifting sands. Palmer’s world is one of survival and treacherous politics as he navigates the harsh environment in search of a better life.

How about you? Have you read the Silo Book Series? What’s your favourite? We’d love to hear from you.

Other things you might want to know:

What order should I read the Silo series in?

Wool, Shift, and then Dust.

What book series is the show Silo based on?

The first book in the series: Wool.

How many books does the Silo series cover?

The Series covers the first book: Wool.

Check out other articles by month: