The Maze Runner Books: A Dystopian World Full Of Labyrinths

The Maze Runner series, written by James Dashner, consists of five books: “The Maze Runner,” “The Scorch Trials,” “The Death Cure,” “The Kill Order,” and “The Fever Code.” The series takes the unique settings of various mazes, each with its own twisting paths and dangers alike. Unknown to our main characters, the maze is a guard to an overarching secret that drives them forward. Find out about all five The Maze Runner Books here!

The Maze Runner Books

Book 1: The Maze Runner

Thomas wakes up in a metal elevator shaft with no memory of who he is, only his name. The elevator deposits him in a large glade surrounded by towering stone walls. The Glade is inhabited by other teenage boys who also have no memory of their past, led by a leader named Alby. They have formed a community, known as the Gladers, and have established their own society and rules.

The Gladers’ sole focus is finding a way to escape the Glade, which is enclosed by a complex maze filled with deadly creatures called Grievers. Thomas becomes determined to become a Maze Runner, a group of boys who venture into the maze each day to try and map it. His curiosity and bravery led him to become an asset to the Gladers.

When a girl named Teresa unexpectedly arrives in the Glade, she triggers a series of unprecedented events. Thomas and Teresa share a telepathic connection and strange memories. With Teresa’s arrival, the Glade’s delicate balance is disrupted. Thomas, Teresa, and a few other Gladers manage to survive a night in the maze and discover an exit just as the maze is about to close.

The Maze Runner Books

Book 2: The Scorch Trials

As the Gladers escape the maze, they are taken by a mysterious organization called WICKED to a safe facility. They are introduced to Janson, a WICKED representative, who explains that they are part of an experiment to find a cure for a deadly virus called the Flare, which has ravaged the world. The Gladers learn that they were chosen because they possess natural immunity to the virus.

Janson informs the Gladers that they must now undergo the Scorch Trials, a treacherous journey through a post-apocalyptic wasteland known as the Scorch. They must traverse deserts, face extreme weather conditions, and encounter infected humans called Cranks. Along the way, they discover that Teresa has betrayed them and is working with WICKED.

Thomas, Newt, Minho, and a few other Gladers escape from WICKED’s control and join a resistance group called the Right Arm. They learn that WICKED’s motives are not as altruistic as they claim, and they decide to fight back against their captors.

The Maze Runner Books

Book 3: The Death Cure

Thomas and his friends, along with other escaped Gladers, join forces with the Right Arm to overthrow WICKED. They plan to infiltrate WICKED’s headquarters in the Last City, where the organization is conducting its experiments and research. Thomas is determined to rescue Minho, who has been captured by WICKED.

Inside the Last City, Thomas discovers that the Flare virus has reached a critical stage, causing chaos and destruction. With the help of a WICKED scientist named Dr. Paige, Thomas learns the truth about WICKED’s intentions. They were not looking for a cure; they were seeking an individual with a specific brain pattern that could help them develop a control mechanism.

Thomas and his allies successfully rescue Minho and expose WICKED’s true nature to the world. They escape the Last City as it crumbles under the weight of the Flare epidemic. Driven by a desire for justice, they vow to bring down WICKED and find a genuine cure for the Flare.

Book 4: The Kill Order

“The Kill Order” serves as a prequel to the events of the main trilogy. It takes place thirteen years before Thomas entered the Maze. The story follows Mark and Trina, survivors of a series of catastrophic solar flares that have devastated the Earth. They join a small group of people struggling to survive in a world overrun by disease, violence, and a corrupt organization known as the Post-Flares Coalition.

Mark and Trina’s group is attacked by a group of soldiers who release a virus called the Flare. Many of their friends die, and the survivors are forced to flee. They encounter a group of immune teenagers known as the Berg, who are being used by WICKED. The Berg offers Mark and Trina’s group a chance to escape the chaos, but they soon discover that WICKED’s true motives are far from benevolent.

Book 5: The Fever Code

“The Fever Code” provides insights into the creation of the Maze and the origin of Thomas and his friends. It delves into their lives before they entered the Maze, showcasing their experiences as subjects of WICKED’s experiments. The book reveals the extent of WICKED’s manipulation and the reasons behind their actions.

In “The Fever Code,” readers witness how Thomas and Teresa were brought to WICKED, their friendship with other characters, and their growing understanding of the world outside the Maze. The story leads up to the moment when Thomas enters the Maze, providing a complete picture of his journey and the events that shaped him.

Throughout the series, Thomas and his friends face numerous challenges, confront their own identities, and question the boundaries of trust and loyalty. They navigate a dangerous world plagued by a deadly virus, mysterious organizations, and the constant struggle for survival. Their resilience and determination to find answers and create a better future form the core of the Maze Runner series.

How About You? How do you find The Maze Runner Books? Do you prefer the book or movie adaptation? Let us know. We’d love to hear from you.

Other things you might want to know:

Are there 5 or 6 Maze Runner books?

The Maze Runner series, written by James Dashner, consists of five books: “The Maze Runner,” “The Scorch Trials,” “The Death Cure,” “The Kill Order,” and “The Fever Code.” And so, there are 5 books to delve into.

Should a 12 year old read the Maze Runner?

Teens are the target audience of The Maze Runner, so a 12-year-old show be more than fine.

Does Maze Runner have a 4th book?

The Kill Order is the fourth book released in the series, on August 14, 2012.

Check out other articles by month: