Red Rising Trilogy: When Humanity Takes To Mars

The Red Rising Trilogy is a thrilling and thought-provoking saga that combines pulse-pounding action with richly drawn characters and thought-provoking themes, making it a standout in the realm of modern science fiction.

Red Rising (Book 1):

In “Red Rising,” readers are introduced to Darrow, a young miner from the lowest caste known as the Reds, who toil beneath the surface of Mars to make the planet habitable for future generations. When Darrow learns that the surface of Mars has long been habitable and that the Reds have been deceived by the ruling Gold caste, he undergoes a transformation to infiltrate Gold society and bring about its downfall. The book follows Darrow’s trials as he navigates the cutthroat world of the Golds, participates in the deadly Institute, and ignites a rebellion against the oppressive ruling class.

Buy Red Rising here!

Golden Son (Book 2):

“Golden Son” picks up the story after the events of “Red Rising,” with Darrow now entrenched in Gold society and working to undermine it from within. As tensions between the ruling Golds escalate, Darrow finds himself caught in the middle of political intrigue, betrayal, and warfare. He must navigate shifting allegiances and confront his own demons as he fights to overthrow the Golds and bring about a more just society. The book expands the scope of the series, introducing new characters, factions, and conflicts while delving deeper into the themes of power, loyalty, and sacrifice.

Buy Golden Son here!

Morning Star (Book 3):

In the epic conclusion to the trilogy, “Morning Star” sees Darrow leading the rebel forces in a final showdown against the Golds. As the war for freedom reaches its climax, Darrow faces his greatest challenges yet, including betrayal from within his own ranks and the devastating cost of war. The book explores the consequences of revolution and the sacrifices required to build a better future. As the fate of the solar system hangs in the balance, Darrow must rally his allies and confront his own doubts and fears in order to achieve victory.

Buy Morning Star here!


  • Social Justice and Equality: Throughout the trilogy, Pierce Brown explores themes of social justice, equality, and the struggle against oppression. The Reds’ fight for freedom serves as a metaphor for real-world struggles against systemic injustice and inequality.
  • Friendship and Betrayal: The series delves into the complexities of friendship, loyalty, and betrayal, as characters must navigate shifting alliances and conflicting loyalties in the midst of war and revolution.
  • Identity and Self-Discovery: Darrow’s journey from a humble Red miner to a revolutionary leader is also a journey of self-discovery and self-acceptance. As he grapples with questions of identity and purpose, he learns to embrace his true self and find strength in his convictions.
  • Legacy and Sacrifice: The trilogy explores the legacy of past actions and the sacrifices required to secure a better future. Characters must confront their own mortality and make difficult choices in order to achieve their goals and protect the ones they love.

Have you read any of the books on the list? What’s your favourite Red Rising Book? We’d love to hear from you. 

Other things you might want to know:

Was Red Rising supposed to be a trilogy?

The Series has 6 books, split into two trilogies, the first one being the books listed above.

Is there a 7th Red Rising book?

Red God is the upcoming 7th book of the series.

Is Red Rising a spicy book?

It has violence but no mature scenes.

Check out other articles by month: